At this point, the world has accepted the harsh reality of Covid-19 being a part of their life. It’s a reality that is not changing anytime soon. In the last few days, scientists have discovered another Covid-19 variant that is even harder to treat.

To contain the spread of this virus, the USA has restricted travel from Southern African countries as they are said to be the main source of these new Covid-19 variants. Before the USA, the EU had announced the flight ban to and from South African countries. Following in their footsteps, Canada is also introducing a similar policy to control the widespread virus.

WHO has called the new variant “of concern” and has named it Omicron. The Omicron variant was first noticed in South Africa on 24th November. The countries which are facing strict policies regarding travel are South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, and Mozambique.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *